Time

Hello, dearest blog readers. Today I am writing for no reason at all. Ok, that isn’t true. I’m writing because I told you in my very first blog that the purpose of this was partly to document my college experience. So today’s big topic is that of time (everywhere else, it just drags on; here it seems to be lacking!).

I’ve been here at IWU for 17 days now. It’s kind of funny because I can’t really give you an exact description of what it has been like because nearly every day is different. As many of you know, I struggled with meeting people and fitting in at first. I’m not saying that it’s suddenly easy, but God really answered my prayers and has put marvelous people in my life (not to mention the community of believers back home with which I’m still in contact). But now a new challenge has begun to seep from the pages of my textbooks, and responsibilities are now oozing from my syllabi. The newest challenge I’m facing is how to manage my time. I’m taking 15 credit hours (that’s quite a load after suffering from a serious case of senioritis only a few months ago). So we take all of the work that needs to be done and then look in the mirror and realize, “Holy Moses! I need to work out!” I’m pretty hardcore in the gym, so I have to give myself about 5 hours to pump the iron really well. (that’s a lie). And then on top of that is the desire to eat and drink coffee! These things require time. And then you have to walk EVERYWHERE. Apparently my hips aren’t aligned, so that means factoring in extra time due to a slowed pace (a slight exaggeration). AND THEN THERE’S SLEEP (no exaggeration at all). I don’t think I need to elaborate on that one. Most importantly, I have to make time to be alone with God. There’s a cute little prayer chapel that I love going to, but this too requires a segment of time.

Don’t misunderstand me. I’m not complaining. I really love college life a lot. But it’s so hard to find time for everything. That’s all! Have a great day. 🙂

 

Leave a comment